Data Retention and Destruction Policy

Follow

1. Overview

Lever provides software tools for teams to collaborate in an online platform environment to recruit and hire employees. After the end of a customer relationship, it is best practice for Lever to remove the customer’s data from Lever’s systems to reduce the risk of inappropriate access and to comply with applicable data protection laws. Lever deletes data hosted on behalf of a former customer no more than ninety (90) days after the end of a customer’s service term.

2. Purpose

This policy ensures Lever:

  • Implements industry standard data management practices;
  • Reduces the risk of inappropriate access to former customer data; and
  • Complies with data protection law and follow good practices.

3. Scope

a. This policy applies to the following personnel:

i. All Lever staff are required to follow this policy;

ii. All contractors, suppliers and other people working on behalf of Lever.

b. This policy applies to all data that the company holds relating to identifiable individuals as a part of providing services to a customer or as a data processor on behalf of a data controller. This can include:

  • Names of customer candidates;

  • Customer candidate contact information;

  • Customer candidate resumes or sample work product;

  • Customer communication with candidates ;

  • Any other information provided by customer to Lever as a processor that is hosted in the Lever software.

(collectively, “Customer Data”).

c. This policy does not apply to the following types of data:

  • Security records;

  • Application logs and performance data

  • Legal records

4. Policy

a. The Lever Data Protection Officer is responsible administering this policy.

b. The Lever Support team will maintain documented processes reasonably required to comply with this policy and will be responsible for performing efforts required to give effect to this policy.

c. As of the effective date of this policy, Lever will delete Customer Data within ninety (90) days after the last day of a customer’s service term to the extent that the customer does not renew the customer’s agreement with Lever for provision of Lever software services.

d. As of the effective date of this policy, Lever will delete Customer Data at any time upon written request by a customer. Lever will complete such requests within thirty (30) days. 

5. Policy Compliance

a. Compliance to this policy will be verified through various methods, including but not limited to, business tool reports, internal and external audits, and feedback to the policy owner.

b. Any exception to the policy must be approved by the Data Protection Officer in advance. The Lever Data Protection Officer will approve an exception to this policy where it is reasonably required to comply with applicable laws, or where the data should be retained in anticipation of litigation. In each instance where the Lever Data Protection Officer approved an exception, Lever will provide notice to the former customer of the decision to retain data, the legal basis on which the data is retained, and an expected date by which the data will be removed.

c. An employee found to have violated this policy may be subject to disciplinary action, up to and including termination of employment.

6. Related Standards, Policies and Processes

 a. Applicable Laws

b. Policies

  • Law Enforcement Requests

  • Data Classification and Handling

  • Data Protection Policy

c. Contracts

d. Processes

Lever will delete account data at the request of a customer at any time. Additionally, Lever will delete account data post-termination of their Lever account, in accordance with our data retention policies. In order to request data deletion, you must have a Super Admin from your Lever account email privacy@lever.co with the request.

Upon receipt of the request, our team will confirm that the request has been received, and may reach out for additional confirmation, as necessary, to assure the validity of the request.

Please be advised that once your Lever account data has been deleted, it cannot be restored. 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful