Syncing emails (Gmail)

Follow
Available for Roles Super Admin, Admin, Team Member, Limited Team Member
Permissions • Manage profiles and view associated postings
Packages Lever Basic, LeverTRM, LeverTRM for Enterprise

If your organization has integrated its Google suite with Lever, you can sync your Gmail inbox with your Lever account. This will allow you to keep a record of Lever-initiated email conversations with candidates in Gmail so you can work fluidly between the two systems.


Enabling Gmail sync

To enable Gmail sync navigate to Settings > My account, select the 'Email' checkbox under the permissions heading, and click the Save Changes button.

Permissions checkboxes on account settings page with arrow pointing to email permission checkbox.

Syncing emails to Gmail

 

This section describes how Gmail sync works in Lever instances that have configured the 'Full sync' option via Company settings. The Lever/Gmail integration depends on Internet Message Access Protocol (IMAP) to sync emails from your inbox. If IMAP is disabled at the individual or organization level, email syncing will not work. If you do not want to allow IMAP, refer to our help article on the limited email sync option.

All email threads that originate from within Lever will be automatically synced to your Gmail inbox. To sync email conversations with a candidate that occurred outside of Lever, navigate to the candidate’s profile and click on the ellipses button (⋯) next to the candidate’s email address.

Cursor hovering over sync emails button on candidate profile

Alternatively, navigate to the 'Emails' tab on the candidate's profile and click the Import candidate email button.

Emails section of candidate profile; Import candidate email button is visible in center of page

Marking synced emails as secret

As with notes and feedback forms, you can make emails secret. To do so, click the ellipses (⋯) next to the email and select Make Secret from the menu.

Menu extending from ellipses next to email; arrow pointing to make secret option

The secrecy will apply to the entire email thread, making it visible only to the user that marked it as secret, participants in the email, and those with a role provisioned with the 'Edit, delete, and make activity secret on the candidate profile' permission. It is not possible to make individual emails inside of a thread secret.

Deleting synced emails

Lever will never delete any emails from your Gmail account. To remove a synced email from Lever, click the ellipses (⋯) next to the email and select Remove from Lever from the menu. This will remove the email from the candidate profile but keep the original email intact in your Gmail inbox.

Menu extending from ellipses next to email; arrow pointing to remove from Lever option

Frequently asked questions

Can I sync emails that other members of my team have received?

Lever only syncs with your own Gmail account. Lever cannot sync with a user's Gmail inbox without their permission. When a team member has granted permission to sync emails, only they can decide if they want to import email conversations that took place outside of Lever.

I'm having trouble locating emails in my Gmail inbox that I know I've sent to candidates - what should I do?

Make sure that the email address on the candidate’s profile in Lever matches the one in Gmail. Then try following the instructions above for syncing emails to pull the relevant email thread into Lever. Emails sent from Lever that are synced to your Gmail inbox automatically have a 'Lever' label applied, so you can try searching your inbox by label as a means to help locate them.

Label as menu extending above Lever-synced email in Gmail; Lever label checkbox is checked.

Can I sync emails from within Gmail?

Yes. You can use Lever Chrome extension to sync email threads to new and existing candidates without having to exit Gmail. To learn more, refer to our help article on linking email threads using the Chrome extension.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful