Creating and managing custom roles

Follow
Available for Roles Super Admin
Permissions • (To create/edit/delete custom roles): View and edit roles in settings
• (To assign custom roles to users): View edit and create users in settings
Packages Lever Basic, LeverTRM, LeverTRM for Enterprise

When a user is added to a Lever environment they are assigned a role. A user's role dictates the degree of access they have within their Lever environment. Lever has five pre-configured roles: Super Admin, Admin, Team Member, Limited Team Member, and Interviewer. The permission sets for these roles cannot be edited. For users requiring permission sets not provided by one of the five pre-configured roles, you can create custom roles. Custom roles can be configured to grant specific levels of access to the areas, objects, and workflows within your Lever environment. To see the full list of permissions that can be configured for custom roles (as well as the permissions provisioned for each of the five pre-configured roles), refer to our role permissions breakdown article.


Creating custom roles

To create a custom role:

  • Navigate to Settings > Roles
  • Click the + Create Role button
  • In the 'Role information' block, input a title and description for the role
    • Keep in mind that no two roles can have the same title. If you attempt to save a role with the same title as another role (either pre-configured or custom), you will be prompted to change the title.
    • The description will be visible in the roles table on the Settings > Roles page. Descriptions can help you identify at a glance the permissions with which a custom role has been provisioned, which can be particularly useful if you have a large number of custom roles.

Role name and description fields in Role editor

 

If you'd like to duplicate an existing role, then you can click the ellipses button (⋯) next to a role and use this as a template to build from. 
  • Use the checkboxes in the permission list to select permissions for the custom role you are creating
    • The permission list is divided into six categories based on the platform areas, objects, and workflows to which they pertain: (1) Administration and configuration, (2) Candidates, postings, and requisitions, (3) Forms, (4) Integrations and API, (5) Pipeline and workflows, (6) Visual Insights
      • As you select permissions, refer to the 'Permissions' table to view a tally of the number of permissions in each category that have been configured for the role. Clicking the title of a permission category in the table will bring you to the corresponding block in the permission list.

Role permission list

    • To quickly select all of the permissions in a category, use the top checkbox in each permission list block.
    • Certain permissions can be configured to grant access to all or only some of the platform areas, objects, or workflows to which they pertain. Selecting the checkbox for permissions of this type will reveal radio buttons which you can use to further specify the configuration.
      • For example, when the 'View Visual Insights reports' permission is selected, you must specify whether the permission should grant access to 'All options' (i.e. all Visual Insights dashboards) or only 'Specific options' (in which case you must specify which Visual Insights dashboards to which the permission should grant access). For permissions of this type, you will be required to specify full or partial access in order to save the custom role.

 

It is not possible to configure a custom role with permissions to access Legacy Reports. If a user requires access to Legacy Reports, they must be assigned to a default role with requisite access. To learn more, refer to our help articles on Legacy Reports.
  • Once you have selected all desired permissions for the custom role, click the Create Role button
    • Once a role has been created, it will appear in the roles table on the Settings > Roles page.

Custom role highlighted in Roles list

Assigning custom roles to users

Once a custom role has been created, you can then assign it to new and existing users in your Lever environment. To assign a custom role to a user:

  • Navigate to Settings > Users
  • To assign a custom role to new user...
    • Click the + Add User button
    • Proceed with the user profile creation workflow. On the 'Access' tab of the user profile, select the desired custom role from the 'Access role' menu. For full instructions, refer to our user management help article.

Role selection menu in User profile editor

  • To assign a custom role to an existing user...
    • Click their name in the user table
    • Navigate to the 'Access' tab on their user profile
    • Select the desired custom role from 'Access list' menu
    • Click the Save Changes button

When assigning a custom role to a user, keep in mind that their role must be configured with the 'View profiles and associated postings' permission in order for you to be able to configure Sensitive Information Privileges for the user. Refer to our help article on Sensitive Information Privileges to learn more.

When viewing the user table on the Settings > Users page, users' roles will be listed in the second column of the table. You can use the filter next to the search bar to filter for users with a specific role.

User list filtered for users with Recruitment Coordinator custom role

Keep in mind that you must have at least one user assigned to the Super Admin role at all times. Your Lever environment will not allow you to have zero users assigned to the Super Admin role.

Editing custom roles

To edit a custom role:

  • Navigate to Settings > Roles
  • Select the role in the roles table
  • To edit the name of the role...
    • Click the ellipses (⋯) next to the role name
    • Click Rename
    • Input the new name for the role into the 'Rename role' modal
    • Click the Save Changes button

Rename option extending from ellipses next to role name in role editor

  • To edit a role's description...
    • Click Edit Description above the permission tally table
      • If the role you are editing does not have a description, this link will be labeled + Add Description
    • Edit/add the description in the 'Edit role description' modal
    • Click the Save Changes button
  • To edit a role's permissions, simply select and/or de-select the checkboxes in the permission list (for more see 'Creating custom roles' section above)
  • Click the Save Changes button

Deleting custom roles

In order to delete a custom role, there must not be any users currently assigned to it. In the second column of the roles table on the Settings > Roles page, you will find the number of users currently assigned to each role. Clicking a number will take you to the Settings > Users page, with the users table filtered for users that role. Follow the steps in the 'Assigning custom roles to users' section above to reassign users off of the role that you wish to delete.

Cursor pointing to tally of users with custom role in Roles list

To delete a custom role:

  • Navigate to Settings > Roles
  • To delete the role from the roles table...
    • Click ellipses (⋯) aligned to the right of its entry in the table
    • Click Delete
    • In the modal, click the Delete Role button
  • To delete the role from the role editor...
    • Select the role in the roles table
    • Click the ellipses (⋯) next to the role name
    • Click Delete
    • In the modal, click the Delete Role button

Note that deletion of a custom role is permanent. It is not possible to reactivate a custom role once it has been deleted. It is not possible to delete any of the five pre-configured roles (Super Admin, Admin, Team Member, Limited Team Member, Interviewer).

Reactivating users assigned to a now-deleted custom role

If you reactivate a user that was assigned to a custom role at the time of their deactivation and that custom role has since been deleted, the user will be without a role upon reactivation. They will have no permissions and will have no access to their Lever environment.

Close up of entry for reactivated user in User list. Role field reads 'Deleted Role'

When reactivating a user that was assigned to a now-deleted role, be sure to assign them a role that currently exists as part of their reactivation. To learn more about reactivating users, refer to our user management help article.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful