Reactivating pipeline stages

Follow
Available for User roles Super Admins
Packages All packages

 

This feature will be part of our Spring 2022 product release, scheduled for progressive rollout starting mid-May 2022. For more information on the Spring 2022 release, keep an eye on our Product Release Notes.

As your organization's talent acquisition function develops over time, your unified pipeline will likely need to evolve accordingly. Lever allows you to customize your pipeline stages to reflect changes in the candidate journey defined by your team's recruitment procedures. This article will guide you through the process of reactivating stages in your pipeline, covering the following topics:

Note that pipeline customization can have far-reaching effects in your Lever environment. We advise that you familiarize yourself with the design and function of the pipeline before attempting to make changes. To learn more, check out our help article series on understanding your unified pipeline. For more information on pipeline customization, refer to the other help articles on this topic:

For a demonstration of how to customize pipeline stages, jump to the video at the end of this article.

Rules for reactivating pipeline stages

Given how foundational the pipeline is to other functions throughout the platform, there are certain actions you cannot take when reactivating stages in your pipeline. Specifically:

  • The reactivated stage cannot have the same name as an active stage in the pipeline. The active stage will need to be renamed before the former stage can be reactivated.

Knowing when to reactivate pipeline stages

Before reactivating a stage in your pipeline, ask yourself the following questions:

Have I added or reordered stages in my pipeline since I first deactivated this stage?
When a stage is reactivated, it will reappear in its original location in your pipeline. If you have added or reordered stages since the reactivated stage was initially deactivated, its reappearance in its original location may not make sense in the new order. Plan your reactivation carefully and scope out any additional changes that will be required to minimize the impact of the stage's reappearance.
Am I prepared to audit interview plans, feedback forms, surveys, automation workflows, and integrations?
The stage you are planning to reactivate will reappear in any interview plan(s) it was included in prior to being deactivated. The reactivated stage will need to be manually re-associated with any feedback forms, surveys, automation workflows, and integrations that made reference to it prior to being deactivated. We advise auditing these items prior to reactivating the stage to scope out any updates will need to be made.
Have I communicated the reactivation of the stage to my team?
If you are reactivating a stage to reflect a change in procedure, be sure to notify your team that the stage has been reactivated so they can reincorporate it into their process when advancing opportunities.

In general, pipeline stages should only be reactivated to reflect changes in procedure that will impact candidate journeys going forward, but will not affect candidates who are currently in or have gone through your pipeline. Below is an example of when it would be appropriate to reactivate a pipeline stage:

Example: Reactivating an Interview stage
In response to all Topgrade certified managers leaving their company, a Director of Talent Acquisition deactivated the 'Topgrade' stage in their pipeline. They have now backfilled the manager roles and are ready to reinstate the Topgrade interview as part of their process. Upon reactivating the stage, the Director of Talent Acquisition re-associates the Topgrade feedback form as the default feedback form for that stage and re-adds the 'Topgrade' stage to the delivery criteria for their Candidate Experience Survey. They then announce to their team that they can once again use the 'Topgrade' stage. They also provide clear instruction to stop using the stage that they had added to their pipeline as an alternative when they had originally deactivated the 'Topgrade' stage. In two weeks, when most or all of the opportunities currently on alternative stage have been naturally advanced or archived, they can deactivate the alternative stage with minimal impact to their recruitment data.

How to reactivate pipeline stages

 

The reactivation of stages in your pipeline may affect integrations you have enabled in LeverTRM. As a best practice, review your active integrations for any triggers associated with stages (and make adjustments if necessary) prior to reactivating a stage in your pipeline.
  • Navigate to Settings > Pipeline and archive reasons > Pipeline stages. Here you will see a preview of the active sections of our pipeline, as well as the list of active and deactivated pipeline stages in your Lever environment.

Pipeline and archive reasons settings page.

  • Click the Customize pipeline stages button to open the stage editor. Each stage in your pipeline will be represented by a tile, organized by section. Each tile will show a tally of the number of active opportunities currently associated with that stage in your pipeline.
  • Click Reactivate stage in the upper-right corner of the editor.

Arrow pointing to Reactivate Stage button to the upper-right of stage editor.

  • Select the checkbox(es) on the stage(s) that you wish to reactivate. Click the Reactivate stages button to proceed.
    • If any of the stages you have selected for reactivation have a name that matches the name of a current active stage, an error message will appear when you click the Reactivate stages button. If this occurs, close the modal and edit the name of the active stage before attempt reactivation.

Stage reactivation modal with one deactivated stage selected.

  • The selected stages will reappear in the stage editor. If you wish to adjust the placement of the reactivated stage, you can move it by hovering over the left side of the tile (until two lines of dots appear) and then clicking and dragging it to the desired location.
    • If you wish to modify the stage that you have reactivated, click the stage name on the tile to open the stage edit modal.

Live image of stage tiles being reordered.

  • Click the Next button to the right of the progress bar at the top of the page to proceed.
  • If you are deactivating stages with active opportunities as part of this same series of pipeline customizations, you will be presented with a summary list of stages to be deactivated and the total number of opportunities in each stage that need to be migrated before the deactivation can be completed. Refer to our article on deactivating pipeline stages to learn about best practices and potential impacts of this action. Click the Next button to proceed.

Move opportunities page in pipeline stage configuration workflow. One stage slated for deactivation is listed with a new stage selected to which to migrate opportunities.

  • The final step is to review your slated changes. On the review page, you will find a comparison view of the current and future state of your pipeline once your changes are applied. Below this, you will find a table with a detailed summary of all of your slated changes. At the bottom of the review page, you will find a table summarizing the impacts your changes will have on your analytics.

Example of changes to stages summary

Impact of changes to analytics table

  • Click the Save button to the right of progress bar to apply your changes. It may take a few moments for your pipeline changes to be applied. You can return to Lever while this process runs in the background. Note, it will not be possible to make further changes to your pipeline stages until the initial set of customizations have been applied. When your changes have been applied, a pop-up notification will appear in Lever. Click the button in the pop-up to view the changes in your Settings.

Pop up notification that pipeline stage changes have been successfully applied.

 

If you exit the pipeline stage customization workflow without applying your updates, any changes you have made up to that point will be lost.

Video walkthrough

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful