Using @-mentions in notes to communicate

Follow
Available for User roles All users
Packages All Lever packages

@-mentioning users in notes is an efficient way to communicate with teammates and stakeholders through Lever. Readers of this article will learn about:

Only users that have been added to Lever can be @-mentioned. To learn more, check out our article on adding and managing users.

 

Watch this short video on @-mentioning in notes.

@-mentioning a user in a note

Notes are added directly to a candidate’s profile. Once you have selected an opportunity, you can add a note by typing into the field at the top of the profile editor. To @-mention another Lever user, type the "@" symbol followed by the user's name. A small pop-over will appear, from which you can select the user you wish to mention.

Note editor with @-mentioned user.

Proceed to type your note as you normally would, and click the Add Note button.

 

Keep in mind that notes appear holistically on a candidate’s profile. This means that if a candidate has more than one opportunity in Lever, notes from all opportunities will be listed in the story on the candidate’s profile in reverse chronological order.

How notes appear to @-mentioned users

The @-mentioned user will receive a notification in Lever which they can access by clicking the bell icon next to their avatar.

Lever Inbox with notification for note in which the user was @-mentioned.

The @-mentioned user will also receive an email with note. If the @-mentioned user replies to the email, their response will be added as a comment on the note. From the email, the @-mentioned user can also click to open the candidate's profile in Lever.

Email with note in which recipent was @-mentioned.

@-mentions in secret notes

Notes can be marked as secret by clicking the lock icon beneath the text field.

Note editor with arrow pointing to lock icon beneath the text field.

When a note is marked as secret, only those with the necessary Sensitive Information Privileges will be able to see it. However, users that are @-mentioned in a note will be able to see that note regardless of if they have the necessary Sensitive Information Privileges. For more information refer to our article on secret notes.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful