Updating department and team structure

Follow

If your organization undergoes an internal restructuring, you may have need to update your departments and teams in LeverTRM to reflect. Renaming and/or deleting departments and teams in LeverTRM can have implications on both the content and processes you have set up in your Lever environment. This article will walk you through how prepare for an implement these changes. 

Table of Contents

Preparing to update your departments and teams

Before you make any updates to departments and teams, you will first want to define how your old department/team structure will map to your organization's new department/team structure. To start, list out your existing department/team structure in a separate document.

 

For a helpful way to start listing out your existing department/team structure, navigate to Reports and run a Job Postings export. You can then remove all duplicates from the Dept/Team column in the exported spreadsheet, leaving you with a list of all departments/teams associated with postings.

Next, list out the restructured departments/teams at your organization. Cross-reference both lists to determine the best way to transition your old department/team structure to your new structure.

 

As a guiding principle, first try to identify any opportunities to rename existing teams to fit your new structure. In general, changing the name of an existing department/team has far fewer downstream effects than deleting or replacing an existing department/team.

Once you have mapped out the best way to transition your old department/team structure to your new one, you are ready to start making those updates in Lever. No matter what types of updates you make to your department/team structure, some degree of manual work will be required to check the affected content and processes throughout your Lever environment (and, if necessary, re-associate them with the new departments/teams) once these changes have been made. The amount of manual work required will depend on the type (renaming/deleting/replacing) and number of changes made.

In the last section of this article, you will find descriptions of how each change will impact other areas of your Lever environment.

Renaming or deleting a department or team

 

Only users with Super Admin or Admin level access have the ability to make changes to departments and teams.

To make changes to departments and teams:

  • Navigate to your Settings by clicking the avatar icon in the top-right corner of the screen and selecting Settings from the menu that appears.
  • Select Company from the Settings menu on the left side of the page.
  • Click the Departments & Teams tab at the top of the Company settings page.
  • In the Departments and teams list, click the ellipses aligned to the right of the department or team that you wish to change.
  • Select the option to Rename or Delete from the modal that appears.
    • If renaming...
      •  The modal will provide an editable department/team name field. Input the new title for the department/team.
      • Click the Rename button.
      • You will be notified if there are any postings associated with this department/team that will be impacted by the renaming. Click the Yes, Rename button to complete the action.

Close up of modal extending from team name with notification that attempt to rename will affect one posting.

    • If deleting...
      • A message in the modal will notify you of any postings associated with this department/team that will be impacted by its removal. Click the Delete Department or Delete Team button (depending on which you are deleting) to complete the action.

Close up of modal extending from team name with notification that removal of the team will affect 1 posting.

 

Effects of updating departments and teams

Changes you make to your departments and teams in your Company Settings will be reflected throughout your LeverTRM environment. Below you will find a breakdown of how each of these areas will be impacted by the renaming or removal of a department/team. Review this table and plan your changes in accord with how much manual work will be required to update the affected areas.

Affected Area Renaming Deleting
Candidates Any affected opportunities on a candidate's profile automatically update to reflect the new name of the department/team associated with the job. The department/team is removed from opportunities associated with the affected posting. Candidates with affected opportunities retain their stage but are moved to the "No Team" category of the pipeline (located at the bottom of the jobs list aligned to the left of the candidate pipeline).
Requisitions Requisitions associated with the renamed department/team retain the original name of the department/team as it was at the time the requisition was created. The Department/team field needs to be manually updated for each individual requisition in order for it to be associated with the renamed department/team. Requisitions retain their association with deleted department/teams until they are manually reattributed to a different department/team.
Users & sensitive information privileges Renaming a department/team makes no functional impact on department/team-based visibility for those with the Limited Team Member access role, nor does it affect department/team-based sensitive information privileges that have been granted to any user. However, the original department/team name will be listed on the user's profile until it is manually updated (this has no functional bearing on the user's ability to see the information they have been given access to).

Limited Team Members that had been granted visibility into candidates for job postings associated with a specific department/team revert to having visibility only into candidates for job postings that they own.

Content (e.g. notes, feedback, etc.) labelled as sensitive prior to the removal of the department/team remains visible to any user associated with the deleted department/team. Content labelled as sensitive after the removal of the department/team is not visible to users associated with the deleted department/team.

User profiles retain the title of the deleted department/team in the sensitive information field.

Approval workflows All approval workflows associated with the renamed department/team remain intact and automatically update to reflect the new name. All approval workflows associated with the deleted department/team still appear in Settings > Approvals, but are labelled with a warning notice that the associated department/team has been deleted and a prompt for the user to delete the workflow and create a new one.
Job Postings All postings associated with the renamed department/team automatically update to reflect the new name. Postings previously associated with the deleted department/team are moved to the "Uncategorized" section at the bottom of the Job Postings page. The Department/team field in the editor for individual postings appears blank.
Job Site (  ) Any open postings associated with the renamed department/team automatically update to reflect the new name. Open postings previously associated with the deleted department/team are moved to the "Uncategorized" section at the bottom of the job site page. When viewing an individual posting, the deleted department/team no longer appears beneath the posting title.

 

 

This description of effects only applies to the Lever-hosted job site provided as part of your LeverTRM environment. If your organization has created a custom job site using Lever's Postings API, the effects of changes to departments and teams may vary depending on which pieces of information the site designers have made visible.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful