Understanding the difference between standard postings and confidential postings

Follow
Available for User roles Super Admin, Admin 
Packages LeverTRM for Enterprise

Confidential job postings are designed to facilitate hiring for sensitive roles. Robust and precise access controls ensure that visibility into these postings, as well as any candidates tied to them, can be restricted to a small subset of involved stakeholders. Readers of this article will learn about:

For full information and steps for creating job postings, refer to our help article on creating and managing job postings.

Differences between creating standard and confidential job postings

Users Super Admin and Admin level access have the ability to create confidential postings. The process for adding a confidential job posting follows the same steps as a standard job posting with some key differences. 

When creating confidential job posting, turn the Set as confidential toggle under the 'Job posting distribution' heading to the on position.

job editor with arrows pointing to set as confidential toggle and create posting button

Note that once you click the Create posting button, you cannot change the posting distribution to anything other than confidential.

To ensure the security of the confidential posting and associated sensitive information, default interview plans and approval workflows are bypassed.

Job posting editor with interview plan non supported message

Once all steps are completed, you will see a banner confirming that your confidential job posting has been created. Unlike with a standard job posting, you will not be given the option to add the post to job boards.

Job posting editor with job posting created message

Note that you cannot make candidates alone confidential. Candidate opportunities will be rendered confidential when you link them to a confidential posting. To learn more the distinction, refer to our help article on understanding the difference between candidate profiles and opportunities.

 

If you link a confidential job posting to a requisition, that posting will be the only one that can be linked to that requisition. This is different to standard job postings, of which multiple can be linked to the same requisition. To learn more, refer to our help article on linking postings to requisitions.

Differences between accessing standard and confidential job postings

Super Admins, Admins, and Team Members can create and edit standard job postings. Super Admins, as well as Admins that are also the posting owner, can create and edit confidential job postings. 

  Super Admin Admin Team Member Limited Team Member Interviewer
Can create standard job postings If posting owner or on access list X
Can edit standard job postings Require Sensitive Information Privileges in order to update location, team, work type, and users Require Sensitive Information Privileges in order to update location, team, work type, and users X X
Can view standard job postings If posting owner or on access list Can view postings on internal and external job sites as a prospective applicant would
Can create confidential job postings X X X
Can edit confidential job postings If posting owner X X X
Can view confidential job postings If posting owner or on access list If posting owner or on access list If posting owner or on access list X

 

The posting owner can edit either stakeholder fields (owner or hiring manager) on confidential postings. Note that if you remove yourself as the posting owner from a confidential posting you will no longer have access to it. 

Job posting with arrow pointing to posting owner

A user's Sensitive Information Privileges will only carry over to confidential job postings for which they are also on the Access list. For more information, refer to our help article on Sensitive Information Privileges.

Best practices for creating confidential job postings

Watch the short video below on how our Recruiting team uses confidential job postings:

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 1 found this helpful