|Available for||User roles||All users. Can only be configured by Super Admins|
|Products||All plan types, free of charge|
Note: In the coming months, we will be migrating all existing customers to our updated user interface and data model. If your team began using Lever before July 15th, 2019, or if the screenshots below do not match what you see in your account, please visit this version of this article instead.
Please note: Lever does not give legal advice. If you’re looking for more information about whether your organization should be collecting data requests, please seek legal counsel.
Under the GDPR, data subjects have the right to access, rectify (update), or delete (erase) data you may have about them. Lever makes it incredibly easy to collect and track these requests, and make sure you respond appropriately to each one.
After configuring your account for GDPR compliance on your Company Settings Compliance tab, each ‘Consent link’ (for customers relying on consent) or ‘Unsubscribe link’ (for customers relying on legitimate interest) will also provide a way for candidates to submit data requests. Once they click on the ‘Your Data’ tab, they’ll see options to submit requests:
Through this page, they can submit requests to your recruiting team which will appear in Lever. The appropriate user will be notified by email and within Lever. Once submitted, they’ll see confirmation that their request was sent.
Tip: Lever will automatically cancel any pending Nurture touchpoints or delayed send e-mails when a candidate revokes consent or contact permissions. Lever will also warn you if you start a Nurture campaign or e-mail for a candidates who has revoked consent or where legitimate interest has expired
Request to view
If the candidate would like to access the current data you have about them, they can click on the blue ‘Request Copy of My Data’ button. They’ll be able to add a short note explaining their request (optional), and that request will immediately appear on the candidate profile in Lever:
Clicking ‘View Note’ will display their message. In addition, it will also appear on the Data Requests report:
When a candidate submits a data request, the request will display on all of their opportunities. From any of their opportunities, you can easily respond by clicking the “Resolve…” dropdown, and selecting “Send Personal Data”:
This will automatically create a draft e-mail to send to the candidate that contains:
- Candidate Name
- Application Question responses for all opportunities
- Application Comments (e.g. cover letters) for all opportunties
- Resumes from all opportunities
You can remove or add details to each email as you see fit. You can also generate this email by clicking the ellipses at the top menu section of the candidate profile, and selecting “Send Personal Data”.
Then, mark the banner on the profile as resolved to have it reflected in the ‘Data requests’ report.
It’s possible that the candidate submits multiple requests. As soon as you respond to one, you may want to mark the rest as resolved to have the banners disappear.
Request to edit
If the candidates chooses to “Edit my Information”, they’ll be able to provide a description of the changes they’d like to make. This request will immediately appear on the candidate's opportunities in Lever and in the ‘Data requests’ report. Clicking ‘View note’ will display the candidate’s message:
Once you’ve made the change, simply click ‘Mark Resolved’, and the status will be updated on the report, and the banner will disappear from all of the candidate's opportunities. We suggest then emailing the candidate confirmation that the change has been made.
Request to delete (erasure)
If the candidate clicks “Remove Me”, you’ll see two banners appear on the candidate profile; one telling you that the candidate should now be anonymized, and one telling you about the request:
When you’re ready to respond, click “Anonymize” - you’ll see a pop-up explaining what we anonymize, and asking for confirmation.
Once a candidate has been anonymized, they will see the following message (with 'Lever' replaced by your company name) if they attempt to load their consent or unsubscribe link:
For more info, see this help center article about what we anonymize.