How do I anonymize opportunities in Lever?

Available for User roles All users. Can only be configured by Super Admins
Products All plan types, free of charge

Note: In the coming months, we will be migrating all existing customers to our updated user interface and data model. If your team began using Lever before July 15th, 2019, or if the screenshots below do not match what you see in your account, please visit this version of this article instead.

Please note: Lever does not give legal advice. If you’re looking for more information about whether your organization should be collecting data requests, please seek legal counsel.

Anonymization is easy in Lever - you can either do it in bulk to a set of opportunities from the opportunities list, or you can do one-off anonymization for a single opportunity.

We’ll cover both in this article, but if you’re looking for more information about what happens to the candidate's data during anonymization, look here. If you’re looking for more information on identifying opportunities that need anonymization using filters or reports, check here.

Before diving in, please be aware that you can only anonymize archived opportunities who are not marked as Hired. 

Bulk Anonymization

You can use Lever's "To be anonymized" filter to quickly identify opportunities in your pipeline who need anonymization. From there, select all candidates you’d like to anonymize, click the down caret menu, and select “Anonymize”: 

Screen_Shot_2019-10-07_at_5.43.48_PM.png

When you do, you’ll see a confirmation page letting you know how many opportunities will be anonymized:

Screen_Shot_2018-05-11_at_9.26.28_AM.png

Once you do - you’re all set!

Single Profile Anonymization

If you’re responding to a request from a candidate to delete data, you’ll see a banner at the top of their opportunities asking you to anonymize the candidate. Responding to a request for erasure will anonymize the candidate and all of their opportunities.

If the candidate hasn’t submitted a request for deletion, but their consent has expired, you’ll see a red banner letting you know: 

Screen_Shot_2019-09-15_at_7.44.01_PM.png

To anonymize this opportunity (once it’s archived), simply click the ellipses menu, and select "Anonymize":

Screen_Shot_2019-09-15_at_7.45.03_PM.png

You’ll be asked to confirm - one you do, the opportunity data will disappear, and the opportunity will be anonymized! If the candidate has any other opportunities, their contact information and other opportunity data will still be accessible.

Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk