Adding and managing users

Follow
Available for Roles Super Admin, Admin, Team Member
Permissions • View, edit, and create users in settings
Packages Lever Basic, LeverTRM, LeverTRM for Enterprise

Adding users to Lever is the first step to getting your recruitment team as well as your broader organization involved in your hiring initiatives. Before proceeding, we recommend reading our role permissions help article, so you can assign and/or create the appropriate roles when adding users to Lever. For a demonstration of how to add users to Lever, jump to the video at the end of this article.


Adding users

To add a user to Lever:

  • Navigate to Settings > Users
  • Click the + Add New User button

Users lists in Settings with arrow pointing to Add New User button.

  • Input the name, email address and job title of the user you wish to add. Note that that user's email address must match the domain(s) associated with your organization's LeverTRM instance.
  • In the 'Reports to' field, select the new user's direct manager from the list of users in your Lever environment.
  • If the user you are adding was hired through Lever...
    • Search for their name in the field under the 'Link to candidate profile(s)' heading
    • Click Link this profile

Add new user editor with candidate profile listed and arrow pointing to link this profile button.

 

Linking a user profile to their pre-existing candidate profile prevents the user from seeing any information from their candidate journey in Lever, such as interview feedback or offer details. For more information, refer to our help article on hiding hired candidates' information.
  • Click the Next Step button
  • Select the appropriate access role for the user
    • The access role menu contains Lever's five pre-configured roles (Super Admin, Admin, Team Member, Limited Team Member, and Interviewer) as well as any custom roles that have been created for your Lever environment. To learn more about the latter, refer to our help article on creating and managing custom roles.

User profile editor with access level menu expanded; Team Member level of access is selected.

  • Configure additional permissions for the user
    • If adding a user with a role provisioned with partial access via the 'Manage profiles and view associated postings' permission...
      • Specify the parameters for the type(s) of job postings and associated candidates the user should have access to
    • If adding a user with a role provisioned with the 'Manage profiles and view associated postings' permission...
      • Enable Sensitive Information Privileges (if applicable), and specify which secret objects, hired candidates, and/or job posting re-attribution capabilities the user should have access to. Check out our Sensitive Information Privileges help article to learn more.

Additional permissions list with Sensitive Information Privileges toggle flipped to on position and various privileges selected beneath it.

      • Enable the ability to perform bulk candidate imports (if applicable). The user must be assigned a role provisioned with the 'Manage profiles and view associated postings' permission in order to enable this capability. To learn more, refer to our bulk candidate import help article.
    • If adding a user with a role provisioned with the 'View Visual Insights reports' permission...
      • Enable data export access (if applicable), and specify which data sets the user should be able to export. 
    • If adding a user with a role provisioned with the 'View, edit, and create users in settings' permission...
      • Enable the user's ability to change other users' Sensitive Information Privileges (if applicable)
  • Click the Next Step button
  • If adding a user whose role contains the permission to 'Manage profiles and view associated postings'...
    • Associate the user as a follower on existing job postings so they can be notified about related activity.

Following menu in user profile editor with job posting selected.

  • Click the Invite User button

Once invited, the user will be listed in the 'Pending Invites' section of your Users list. The invited user will receive an email which they can use to login to Lever.

New user email invitation with login button.

Once the user has logged in to Lever, they will be listed under the 'Active Users' section of your Users list.

Managing and deactivating users

Once a user is active in Lever, you can manage their user profile by clicking their name in the user table on the Settings > Users page. You can use the filter next to the search bar to filter for users with a specific role.

In the user profile editor, you can modify the user's information (including linking their user profile to an existing candidate profile), access role and followed postings.

To deactivate a user, click the ellipses points aligned to the right of their name in the Users list and click Deactivate User. 

Users list with arrows pointing two ellipses and deactivating users button

A warning will pop up to tell you that the user will be prevented from logging in. In addition, if the user is part of any approval chains, the warning will display which chains will require an update. To proceed, click the blue Deactivate User button. Once a user is deactivated, they will no longer be able to log into Lever.  

Reactivating users

Deactivated users will appear in grey in your company settings users list. To reactivate a user, click the ellipses [...] located on the right hand side of the user's information and select the + Reactivate user option from the dropdown menu. When asked 'Are you sure?', click the + Activate user button to confirm reactivation

Users list with arrows pointing to ellipses next to user and reactivate user

Reactivating users assigned to a now-deleted custom role

If you reactivate a user that was assigned to a custom role at the time of they were deactivated and that custom role has since been deleted, the user will be without a role upon reactivation. They will have no permissions and will have no access to their Lever environment.

Close up of entry for reactivated user in User list. Role field reads 'Deleted Role'

When reactivating a user that was assigned to a now-deleted role, be sure to assign them a role that currently exists as part of their reactivation.

Best practices for adding and managing users

Abiding by the following best practices will help to ensure a smoother user management experience.

Add all of your organization's employees to Lever

We recommend adding everyone in your organization to Lever with at least Interviewer level access so they can easily refer candidates and assist in the hiring process where needed.

 

If your organization uses G Suite or Office 365 and has single sign-on enabled for Lever, anyone within your organization's email domain (e.g. @company.com) can log in at hire.lever.co with Interviewer level access. Until their access is upgraded by a Super Admin or Admin, they will only have access to the Interviews page in Lever, from which they can submit referrals and interview feedback.

Restrict Super Admin access

Given the complete degree of control associated with this role, we recommend that as few people as possible be set-up with this level of access. Typically a primary user such as a Talent Leader is given Super Admin access for day-to-day use, along with one to two users who can jump in as a back-up in the event the primary user is unavailable. 

Reach out to Lever Support for assistance with bulk user uploading

If you have a long list of users to add to Lever, our Support team is available to assist. Click the Submit a request button at the top of this page to get in touch.

Video walkthrough

Note: the above video shows a version of the user management interface as it was prior to the release of the 'Job title' and 'Reports to' user profile fields. We are working on updating this video to reflect the latest platform updates!

Was this article helpful?
4 out of 6 found this helpful