Changing a job posting’s owner or hiring manager

Follow
Available for User roles Super Admin, Admin, Team Member
Packages All packages

Designating a job posting owner and a hiring manager gives those users visibility into the hiring process. When you have assigned a posting owner and hiring manager, the user is added as a follower to all candidate profiles that are associated with the posting. They also have the ability to view offer details for candidates associated with the posting. Before getting started, we recommend reading full instructions on our help article on adding and managing job postings.

You can add a posting owner or hiring manager when creating or editing a posting.

  • Navigate to Jobs
  • Create a new posting or select an existing posting to edit
  • Click into the 'Posting owner' or 'Hiring manager' dropdown lists to select and assign users

Job posting editor with arrows pointing posting ownder and hiring manager fields

What happens to current candidates when you change the posting owner or hiring manager

When you change the owner or hiring manager of a posting, you will be asked what you want to do with current candidates. You can choose to update the posting owner or hiring manager on record for all candidates who are still actively being considered for the posting, or you can choose to keep the existing owner or hiring manager for those current candidates.

Job posting owner with posting and hiring owner change warning

Regardless of what you choose for current candidates, the new owner or hiring manager will be the owner or hiring manager for all new candidates to the posting going forward.

This decision will primarily affect reporting, where you can see the posting owner or posting hiring manager on record for your consideration of a candidate to a specific job. You will also see the posting owner change on the opportunities in the job list.

Candidates list with arrow pointing to opportunity owner icons

 

If you have the Team Member access role and you change the posting owner or hiring manager from yourself to someone other than yourself, you will not be able to edit the role in question again.
Was this article helpful?
3 out of 8 found this helpful