How do I reject or archive a candidate?

Available for User roles Super Admins, Admins, Team Members, Limited Team Members
Plans All plan types, free of charge

If a candidate is not hired, take a second to archive their profile and document why. Understanding why candidates aren’t progressing will help refine your recruiting practices. Plus, you never know when a candidate may resurface in the future!

In order to maintain quality data, first make sure that your team’s archive reasons are in order. If you’d like to rename, add, remove, or rearrange any of your reasons, fill out this form, and our support team will lend a hand!

Please note: The “Hired” archive reason cannot be deleted.

Now, let’s talk about all of the ways that you can use our archive functionality!

Archive an individual candidate profile

Anyone who can view a candidate profile can archive it. Archiving a candidate profile will archive all considerations listed in the “Jobs” section of the profile. If you’re ready to do that, click the “Archive” button and select a reason.

In this dropdown menu, we’ve provided you with two options:

  1. Want to archive the profile and not email the candidate? Click “archive now” and you’re set.
  2. Prefer to archive the profile and email the candidate at the same time? Check the box next to the “Also send email to the candidate?” text, and click “next”.

Option 1

ArchiveButton.png

Option 2

ArchiveAndEmail.png

After clicking “next”, we’ll show you an email editor, where you can select an email template, delay the email to be sent at a later date, and review the archive reason that you’re associating with the candidate.

ArchiveAndEmail_EmailEditor.png

Tip: The next time that you choose to archive a candidate from their profile, we’ll remember if you previously checked the “email” box. We’ll even auto-populate the email that you sent to the last candidate you archived!

Archiving candidate profiles in bulk

Please note: This feature is being gradually rolled out and will be available in your account in the coming weeks.

To archive or archive and email batches of candidates, head over to the Candidates list, check the boxes next to their names, and choose “Archive” from the bulk action bar.

BulkArchive.png

If you would like to move all of the selected candidates into your archive and archive all job considerations, you should select “Archive everything” from the “Choose job” dropdown menu. To notify all of the affected candidates, select the option to send an email, and you will be taken to the email editor. 

Screen_Shot_2018-12-20_at_5.21.04_PM.png

Remember that archiving a profile in this way will archive all active job considerations on their profile!

Archiving job considerations in bulk

You also have the option to bulk archive specific job considerations, without archiving the entire candidate profile! You should use this method if you would like to archive existing considerations from candidate profiles in your active pipeline, without archiving candidates who have also applied for other open roles.

After selecting multiple candidate profiles, you’ll be given the option to select “Archive” from the bulk actions bar. From here, you will be able to select which job you would like to archive from the selected profiles. Each role listed in the “Choose job” dropdown menu exists on at least one of the selected candidates. If you've selected candidates without any active considerations on their profile, the drop down menu will also have an option called "General consideration.”

Screen_Shot_2018-12-20_at_5.27.39_PM.png

After selecting a role to archive, you must select an archive reason, and can also choose to send an email to the affected candidates.

If a candidate has active considerations for multiple roles, only the role that you specify will be archived. The profile will remain in your active pipeline so that you can continue to evaluate the candidate for their additional considerations. If no active considerations remain, the profile will be moved into your archive.

This functionality is useful when you want to close a posting and notify all related candidates, but still consider these candidates for other roles they may have applied for. We recommend using the left sidebar to filter the Candidates list by the specific posting and archiving the related considerations from the bulk actions menu. Then you can safely close the posting.

Archiving specific job considerations from a candidate profile

Some candidates may be considered for multiple roles for a period of time. When you decide which role fits the candidate better, you can archive the considerations that you are not evaluating the candidate for anymore.

In the “Jobs” section, to the right of the consideration you want to archive, click on the box icon and select an archive reason. This will only archive that specific consideration and leave the candidate’s remaining considerations active!

Applications_ArchiveButton.png

Accessing and unarchiving archived candidate profiles

View your archived candidates anytime by clicking on the Archive tab in your pipeline:

Pipeline_ArchiveTab.png

On the candidate profile that you’d like to unarchive, click on the gray bar that lists the candidate’s archive reason at the top of their profile. From there, you can unarchive the candidate to an existing job consideration, a new consideration, or without a consideration. After you make your selection, they will return to the stage they were in prior to being archived.

You can also unarchive many candidates at once from the Candidates list. Check the box next to the candidate names, click on the “v” button, and select “unarchive candidates” from the dropdown menu. This will unarchive the candidate profile and all considerations on the profile.

Archive a candidate, but just for a while

Setting reminders to revisit a candidate in a few weeks or months is such a common workflow that Lever has an entire feature devoted to it. Learn more about snoozing candidates.

Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk